La Sorbonne

On 23 May we will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Sorbonne Declaration, that founded the Bologna Process and later on the EHEA.

La Sorbonne is one of the oldest and most famous universities of the world. Founded in 1253 by Robert de Sorbon, Bishop of King Louis IX, it is the historical seat of the University of Paris.

The building today houses the Rectorat d’Académie (where the representative of the Minister of Education is based), the Chancellerie des Universités de Paris in charge of Universities in Paris and several higher education and research institutions.

It is in this historical building that the Sorbonne Declaration was signed in 1998, by the ministers of four countries: France, Germany, Italy and UK. The aim of the Declaration was to create a common frame of reference within the intended European Higher Education Area, where mobility should be promoted for students, as well as teaching staff. Another important goal was to ensure the promotion of qualifications with regard to the job market.

Visiting the Sorbonne

By Katepanomegas - Own work, CC BY 3.0,
By Katepanomegas - Own work, CC BY 3.0,